Home / Telecoms / Mobile / giffgaff

giffgaff: your PAC code, and how to leave

giffgaff publishes no ordinary customer service number. Here is how to get your code, the one phone route it does give, and what leaving a contract costs.

giffgaff facts verified 25 September 2026 · Ofcom rules checked 26 July 2026 · Next review 26 October 2026

Quick answer

How to get a giffgaff PAC code

You want toDo thisFrom giffgaff’s own help page
Keep your numberText PAC to 65075Free. giffgaff says the code arrives within 60 seconds
Leave without your numberText STAC to 75075Free
Do it another wayYour profile and settings page, or call 43431Both listed by giffgaff for PAC and STAC

You need to be in the UK to ask for a PAC, giffgaff says. You can still ask for one for up to 30 days after leaving, and it is valid for 30 days from issue. Verified

Credit is lost when you port out. giffgaff says remaining credit and unused plan days are not refunded after a port-out, so time the switch near the end of your plan. Verified

PAC and STAC requests by phone

43431

Verified Published in giffgaff’s own help article on leaving as a way to request a PAC or STAC. It is the only phone number giffgaff’s help centre gives for mobile; for everything else it offers its HelpBot chat, which passes you to an agent. Checked 25 September 2026. giffgaff does not say what calling 43431 costs, whether it works from other networks, or when it is answered.

Getting to the right team

We don't yet know how giffgaff's phone menu is structured, so we're not going to guess. If you work it out, we'd like to hear from you.

Before you call

What to know first

There is no giffgaff customer service phone line to call. Its help centre sends you to the giffgaff HelpBot, an AI chat that passes you to an agent if it cannot help. The one number it gives, 43431, is for PAC and STAC requests. Verified

Rolling plans: turn off auto-renew. giffgaff says you can cancel a monthly rolling plan at any time, and your allowance lasts until the current plan expires. Every plan lasts one month. Verified

18-month contracts: end it in your account or the app. Online, giffgaff gives Orders & payments, then Terminate your contract, then End my contract. In the app: Account, Payments methods, Leaving giffgaff, Close my account. Verified

Fourteen days to change your mind from activation. giffgaff counts the 14 days from the moment you activate your SIM. Verified

The codes

How to actually leave

Keep your numberText PAC to 65075

A PAC ports your number to the new provider. Give it to them, not to giffgaff.

Start freshText STAC to 75075

A STAC closes the account without taking your number with you.

giffgaff lists three routes for each code: the text, your profile and settings page, or a call to 43431. You must be in the UK to request a PAC. If your SIM was deactivated after six months without use, giffgaff says its agents can still issue a PAC within 30 days of deactivation. Verified

What it costs

Notice, exit fees and the handset

NoticeNone stated

giffgaff states no notice period. Rolling plans stop when you turn off auto-renew, at the end of the current month; contracts end through your account.

Leaving early18-month contracts: half the plan price for each full month left.

giffgaff’s own formula: the cost of your current or most recent plan, divided by two, multiplied by the number of full months left. It publishes no worked example. The formula is for its 18-month contracts; giffgaff says monthly rolling plans can be cancelled at any time.

Your handsetA giffgaff phone loan is a Klarna loan, and you keep paying it.

giffgaff says its phone loans come from Klarna, and that you are responsible for all payments until the loan is complete. It does not say in plain terms what happens to the loan when you leave, so check your Klarna agreement before you switch.

Your rights

What you're entitled to

  • Your code has to arrive within a minute. For residential customers Ofcom requires the losing provider to send a PAC or STAC no later than one minute after the request. Beware of guides quoting two hours or two working days; those are the rules for business customers. Verified
  • Text is not the only route they must offer. Providers must give at least three free ways to get a code: by text, online through your account, and by phone. Text and online have to be available at all times. Codes last 30 days. Verified
  • Switching kills the notice period. If you move using a code, your old contract terminates on the working day the switch completes, and your provider must not bill you for any notice period running past that date. This is the single most valuable rule here. It does not, however, cancel an early termination charge if you are still inside your minimum term. Verified
  • They must tell you what you still owe on the handset. The switching information sent with your code must say whether the handset sits on a separate contract, and either what is still payable on it after you move or the date you stop paying. It must also give your total final charge as a single figure. Verified
  • The switch itself is quick, and free. Porting must complete within one working day, any loss of service must not exceed one working day, and no charge may be made for taking your number with you. Your number stays portable for at least a month after you leave. Verified

One rule is worth more than any script: switch with a code and your provider cannot bill you for a notice period beyond the switch date. The full explainer, including what it does not cover, is here.

Where this comes from

ClaimSourceChecked
PAC to 65075, STAC to 75075, 43431, the profile and settings route; codes within 60 seconds; UK only; 30 days after leaving; no refund of credit after a port-out; deactivated SIMs giffgaff’s own help article on getting a PAC or STAC, help.giffgaff.com 25 September 2026
No other phone number published for mobile; HelpBot chat hands over to an agent All 170 articles in giffgaff’s own help centre sitemap 25 September 2026
Early termination formula; how to end a contract online or in the app giffgaff’s own help article on the mobile contract 25 September 2026
Rolling plans cancel any time; all plans last one month; 14 days from activation giffgaff’s own help articles 25 September 2026
Phone loans from Klarna; you pay until the loan is complete giffgaff’s own help article on buying a phone with a loan 25 September 2026
The cost, hours and reach of 43431 Not stated by giffgaff Not known
What happens to a Klarna phone loan when you leave Not stated by giffgaff Not known

Bill Watch

One email, three weeks before your renewal or fixed deal ends, telling you it's time to shop around. Free, and that's the whole product.

No spam, no sharing your address, unsubscribe in one click. We'll email you once to confirm. The reminder only starts after you click that link.